Steampunk

A little off topic…again…

I don’t post pictures of myself often, but this time I will make an exception as I am quite proud of this outfit I put it together entirely on a last-minute whim. The skirt was in my closet, part of a previous pirate costume, the bodice had been purchased last year and was worn occasionally for various ren faire costumes, but what brought it together was that jacket that I found on Thursday at the Goodwill. That was a wonderful find.

My steampunk outfit for Steampunk day 2012 at the Bristol Renaissance Faire

The umbrella was also found at Goodwill, but when I found it was a normal large black umbrella, I spent part of Thursday and Friday ripping out panels and adding new ones to give it an appropriate parasol type look (and for someone who doesn’t sew, I was impressed). The hat was made by my husband out of an old alarm clock.

For those that don’t get it this was a steampunk outfit. Definition of Steampunk from Wikipedia;

Steampunk is a genre that originated during the 1980s and early 1990s and incorporates elements of science fiction, fantasy, alternate history, horror, and speculative fiction. It involves a setting where steam power is widely used—whether in an alternate history such as Victorian era Britain or “Wild West“-era United States, or in a post-apocalyptic time —that incorporates elements of either science fiction or fantasy. Works of steampunk often feature anachronistictechnology, or futuristic innovations as Victorians might have envisioned them, based on a Victorian perspective on fashion, culture, architectural style, and art.

It was steampunk weekend at the Bristol Renassance Faire. For those of you interested in Steampunk then I suggest you check out the work of Highwind Steamworks, my friend Jeff and his wife Dawn make some excellent steampunk gear, you can also subscribe to their Facebook page.

2 Comments

Filed under random, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Steampunk

  1. Homepreneurs

    Awesomely cool! Thanks for sharing! Hope it wasn’t a 100 degree day at the Ren Fair!

  2. Pingback: Goths Should Consider Learning About Steampunk « Lavoce: We Are People Too, Inc.

Please, leave a Reply

