Drops in a bucket

Well no spam today, at least no Careerbuilder.com based spam and no viruses, so things are looking up on that end. Unfortunately the work end is looking rather bleak, maybe its because I came in and took off running with a steady job and several small writings, but now it seems as dry as a bone.

I am continually being turned down for jobs because I charge too much or because I have no experience. Even with little experience I want to make something, from what I can tell $1 per 100 words is a decent rate for me to charge. I speak and write fluent English (both U.K. and American…Australian stumps me occasionally), have good grammar and I know where a comma goes. I’m willing to do reasonable rewrites and will write on any topic they ask me to, even if I have to do intensive research. I like studying so I don’t mind research, in fact the more trivia in my head the happier I am.

The big problem is that I live in North America and need to pay North American bills. If I lived in India, China, or even some of Europe I could easily undercut myself. The disgusting part is that most of these writing jobs are asking for English and most of the people responding don’t have English as a first language, but they can go cheap. Thus American outsourcing once again rears its ugly head in yet another small way.

As is, I think I’m asking for less than minimum wage and that’s without benefits or a byline. The work I’ve been writing I can’t even claim to put on a resume because I have sold the rights. If I don’t relinquish my rights then I don’t get paid. I could have a lot of articles written on these sites, but they won’t pay any bills that way. I don’t have a good enough following to make money off of impressions.

All I can do is keep plugging away at the writing and hope something bites. Good luck to everyone else struggling.

2 Comments

March 16, 2012 · 2:03 pm

2 responses to “Drops in a bucket

  1. I’m in the UK, so I suppose finances etc are a little different, but $1 per 100 words seems really very cheap to me. I think that’s about 60 pence here, and as you say, not even minimum wage. I’m very new to the industry (if you can even say I’m really part of it, for that matter, ha) and so I know basically nothing, but as an outsider looking in, I think it’s pretty disgusting that someone with your expertise is being told your rates are too high. You pay for what you get, and reading how you’ve sold yourself here, I’d say anyone hiring you is getting a bargain.

    Best of luck for the future. Hopefully it’ll start to look up soon!

    ~Vi

Please, leave a Reply

