Sites for writers

Well in my journeys through this world of writing I have encountered many sites, some that supposedly help you find jobs, some that help you get published or sell your work. This will probably be an ongoing post that I will frequently update as I go along. These are my opinions, you can always visit them and form your own ideas.

 Sites I DON’T recommend

http://www.ghostbloggers.net/ – A site where you can sell and buy unique blog posts. I found this site and thought it was awesome, I immediately submitted articles. The cool thing about this site is that you set your own prices, then the site puts a percentage on top of that as their cut.

The first problem is that apparently they only have one person reviewing articles because they sit queued for several weeks before they are approved. The second issue was it didn’t look like anything was selling on the site. Yes, some of the prices listed were outrageous, but not all of them. I saw requests that were supposedly put up by customers asking for articles on specific topics, those few requests sat there idle for months. Every time I logged in I saw the same articles for sale, it just didn’t look to me like anything was actually selling.

http://www.mineeds.com/ – A site that matches contractors and employers so that an employer will only receive bids from contractors that meet their qualifications.

The biggest problem with this site is that you can’t bid on any jobs, not until you pay for a bid package from them. They don’t give you any free bids as a trial run, or a certain amount per month, you just can’t bid on a job until you pay them. When you do pay them its $19.99 for only five bids. I get emails from them daily telling me that there are bids I am suitable for, but I have no way to bid. I am not going to pay to use a site that I don’t even know will work.

 Sites I DO recommend

http://www.peopleperhour.com/ – I am partial to this site because this is where I got my first writing gig and it’s still going strong.

There is a lot of competition on here and you need to offer something that no one else does if you really want a job because you will be underbid each and every time. This site seems to be mainly U.K. but as you are working from home it doesn’t make a lot of difference. Just be sure that your bid is in the correct currency, if you bid 500 be sure that you state whether it is dollars, pounds or Euros. There are a lot of people from smaller countries competing and where U.S. dollar is worth a lot more there so these people will almost always outbid you. If the employer is looking for a native English speaker be sure to mention where you are from, that gets you a few points up the ladder of applicants.

https://www.odesk.com –  This site is similar to the above and I have gotten work on them as well.

Once again there is fierce competition, however most of these jobs are posted in U.S. dollars, so if you are in the U.S. you might stand a better chance.

http://jobs.problogger.net/ – a good online job posting board.

Just like any other board this is where several companies, mostly online, post job openings for writers.

9 Comments

Filed under GhostWriting, Language, work

9 responses to “Sites for writers

  1. Reblogged this on Homepreneurs's Blog and commented:
    For those interested in freelance writing, tips from a pro.

  2. I thought this i about freelance writing tips so I read it. Was disappointed for two thihgs:
    First, it started with a negative note;
    Second, there are not writing tips but tips on where to submit an article.

    What a drag.

    • Sorry to disappoint but I state at the beginning”…help you find jobs, some that help you get published or sell your work. …”

      As for starting on the negative note…I always find it better to get the bad over with first.

      • Sorry too. But for a born pessimist like me and struggling to fight it, it is like a diabetic helping himself to a largoebottle of Coke.

      • terry

        It sounds like you are complaining about a service that you have never actually used. I don’t think this is a very credible review of the service… considering you are bashing a service that you have not even used yet.

        • Sorry, looks like I was lost in my thoughts. Never meant to make it sound that way. Anyway, I am up to my neck in my blog, which I am trying to monetize and writing my ebook which I am practically half-way through. I really don’t think I will have the time to write for someone. I have resolved a long time ago that should I write, I write for myself.

  3. rash

    My experience with mineeds for the last 7 months has been awesome. why you don’t recommend them.

  4. Sally

    I agree with rash, I have been using MiNeeds for over 3 months and I regularly get jobs. If you want a free service stick with craigslist. If you are a professional, then you have to pay services to get you better customers. There is never a sure thing with anything but I do find I get better results with paying for leads instead paying for advertising.

Please, leave a Reply

